Energy and Environment

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The PSOJ is being increasingly called upon to address private sector issues relating to energy and the environment in light of the critical impact on competitiveness. The Energy and Environment Committee would therefore seek to undertake initiatives of value to members and the wider business community in these areas. Some of these initiatives would involve an assessment of the policy framework for energy and environmental management as it relates to the private sector, as well as establishing current practices at the firm level, with a view to developing action plans and recommendations for the way forward for the private and public sectors.

The membership base of the PSOJ spans the agro-processing, manufacturing, energy and tourism sectors. These sectors are facing increasing challenges from rising energy costs and environmental impacts which threaten their sustainability and international competitiveness. Additionally, trade and investment agreements with major trading partners increasingly require improved environmental practices in response to the threats posed by global climate change.  Hence, there is a clear business need to improve energy and environmental management in these sectors.

However, there is currently a lack of awareness of financing mechanisms which would allow businesses to improve energy efficiency and environmental impacts at reasonable costs.  The Committee, as part of its mandate, would undertake awareness building of existing and available funds from local, regional and multilateral institutions which could be accessed by the private sector in this regard.

Committee Members:

Ms. Jennifer McDonald – PSOJ
Ms. Eleanor Jones (Chairman) – Environmental Solutions Ltd.
Mr. William Mahfood – Wisynco Group  Environmental Solutions Ltd.
Ms. Kelly Tomblin – Jamaica Public Service
Mr. Nigel Davy – CaribJam Partners, JC
Mr. David Barrett – Enbar Consulting
Mr. Steven Marston – CAC 2000 Limited
Mr. Krishna Desai – Myers Fletcher & Gordon
Mrs. Andrea Scarlett-Lozer – Myers Fletcher & Gordon
Mr. John Carberry – Jamaica Broilers Group
Mr. David Pijuan Mota – Sofos Jamaica Limited
Mr. Kwame Hall – Solease Limited
Mr. Mauricio Pulido – GB Energy
Mr. Alain Carreau – Rubis Energy Jamaica
Ms. Suzanne Shaw – Caribbean Trans-carbon international
Ms. Karoline Smith – Sol Petroleum
Mr. Jason Burgher – Marathon Insurance Brokers Limited

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.